CofC Logo

Office of Institutional Diversity

SPRING 2015 EVENTS AND WORKSHOPS CALENDAR 

To learn more about any of the listed diversity workshops, please visit OID website at (diversity.cofc.edu) and click on “Spring 2015 Calendar of Events”.  Space is limited to the first 25 people.    Unless otherwise noted, workshops are open to Faculty, Staff and Students.  

OID Student Meet & Greet
Date:  Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Time:  2—4 p.m.
Location:  Stern Center Lobby 

Workshop - Intercultural Competency: Knowledge and Practice
Date:  Wednesday January 28, 2015
Time:  3—4:30 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm. 205

FEBRUARY
Black History Month

OID’s Signature Black History Month Speaker:  Rep. Bakari Sellers, Esq.
(Youngest  Black Elected Official in the U.S. to SC House of Representatives)
Date:  Thursday, February 5, 2015
Time:  5 p.m.
Location:  Stern Ballroom

Critical Issues in Diversity: Film Viewing “Dear White People”
Date:  Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Time:  4 p.m.
Location:  RSS, Rm. 235
Facilitated by:  Dr. Anthony Greene, Assistant Professor
Co-sponsored by African-American Studies

Workshop—Creating a Culture of Consent
Date:  Thursday, February 12, 2015
Time:  10:30 a.m. -12:00 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm. 205 

Workshop—The Racial Empathy Gap
Date:  Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Time:  3—4:30p.m.
Location:   Stern,  Rm. 205

MARCH
Women History Month

Workshop—Wealth and Wages: Confronting Class Inequality in the Workplace and Beyond
Date:  Thursday, March 12, 2015
Time:  10:30 a.m. -12 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm.  205

Friday Feminist Film Viewing: “14 Women”
Date:  Friday, March 13, 2015
Time:  3 p.m.
Location:  RSS, Rm. 235  

OID’s Signature Women’s History Month Speaker:  Dr. Jacqueline Jones
The University of Texas at Austin
Date:  Thursday, March 19, 2015
Time:  6 p.m.
Location:  RSS, Rm. 235

Workshop—Power and Identity in the Campus Workplace
Date:  Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Time:  3—4:30 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm.  409 

APRIL

4th Annual Student DIVERSITY Conference
Theme:  Creative Consciousness
A full schedule of events will be updated at http://diversity.cofc.edu/  
Date:  Friday & Saturday, April 10-11, 2015

Workshop—Leading with Social Justice Values
Date:  Tuesday, April 21, 2105
Time:  3 -4:30 p.m.
Location:  Stern,  Rm. 205 

Workshop—Green Zone Training to Support Student Veterans
Date:  Wednesday April 29, 2015
Time:  10 a.m.-12 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm. 205

A Celebration of Asian American Culture
Date:  Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Time:  4:30 p.m.
Location:  RSS, Rm. 235
(An early celebration of Asian Pacific Heritage Month)

Stand Against Racism
Date:  Friday, April 24, 2015
Time:  11 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Location:  Cougar Mall

MAY
Asian Pacific Heritage Month

Workshop—Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome: America's Legacy of Enduring Injury and Healing
Date:  Thursday, May 7, 2015
Time:  3—4:30 p.m.
Location:  Stern, Rm.  205

 

 

To View the Eddie Ganaway Diversity Education & Resource Center Dedication Ceremony, Click Here